Western Isles competitors for World Island Games announced

The Western Isles will be represented in eight sports, and by around 80 athletes, at this year’s NatWest World Island Games in Jersey.

The games take place from 27th June until 3rd July and the team selections — with the exception of the football squads — have now been confirmed. Provisional football squads have been announced, but these must be finalised by 27th May.

Exciting young athletic talents Connor MacLean amd Michael MacMillan have been named in a 23-strong athletics squad, which has a mix of youth and experience. Multiple island games winners Donnie Macleod and Eilidh MacKenzie are also included.

A WIIGA training camp was held at Badaguish last October
A WIIGA training camp was held at Badaguish last October

Cycling brought medal glory at the last games in Bermuda and Commonwealth Games athlete Kerry MacPhee will again lead the charge for the seven-strong Western Isles team. Unfortunately injury has ruled out Christina MacKenzie, a gold medallist at the games two years ago.

In the pool, the team is extended to five female swimmers this year and includes Kara Hanlon — currently the leading young short-distance breaststroke swimmer in Scotland.

There will be four-strong teams in shooting and golf, and single competitors in badminton and in the triathlon.

After missing out on Bermuda, the men’s and women’s football teams return for Jersey. The men’s side will be under the new management of Magnus Johnson — who took charge of the women’s team for the Isle of Wight games — and Eric MacLeod. Catherine Ann Macleod and Euan Macleod take charge of the women’s team, hoping to build on an encouraging fourth-place finish four years ago.

The full squads are as follows:

Athletics Mairi Levack (manager), Jim Warnock (assistant manager), Seumas Mactaggart (assistant manager). Peigi Mackellar, Abbie Mackay, Alanna Goddard, Sarah MacIsaac, Jenny Mactaggart, Eilidh Macleod, Heather Mackinnon, Eilidh Mackenzie, Eve Carrington, Ruairaidh Muncaster, Andrew Horne, Alasdair Rigby, Ross Mactaggart, Calum Fraser, Donald Macleod, Michael Macmillan, Murdo Mackenzie, Connor Maclean, Paul Morrison, Andrew Mackenzie, John Macaskill, William Macrury, Iain Maccorquodale. Badminton Paul Finnegan.
Cycling Gavin Earons (manager), Kerry Macphee (MTB), Kirsty Macphee (MTB), Paul C Smith (MTB), John Neil Mitchell (MTB), Donald Macrury (MTB), Craig McCulloch (Road), Daniel Amor (Road). Golf Norrie Macdonald (manager and WIIGA chairman), Bryan Geddes, Allan Macleod, Kevin Macrae, David M Black. Shooting Archie MacVicar (manager and competing), Donald Macinnes, Donald Walker, Stuart Macleod. Swimming Davie Hanlon (manager), Kathryn Offer, Kara Hanlon, Lucy Doig, Isla Budge, Katie Murray. Triathlon Mark Maciver. Women’s Football (provisional 19; final squad of 17 players to be named by 27th May) Catherine Ann Macleod (player manager), Euan Macleod (co-manager), Lynsey C Mackenzie, Isabelle Bain, Christie MC Houston, Beth M Macleod, Sinead G Macleod, Cirsty E Gillies, Hannah Macleod, Amanda Nicolson, Anne-Louise K Stewart, Mairi Graham, Kirsty Macdonald, Ann-Mairi Mackay, Christine Mackinnon, Mairi Maclennan, Eleanor M Smith, Lois Greenwood, Marina L Murray, Jodie Sinclair. Men’s Football (provisional 32; final squad of 18 by 27th May) Eric Macleod (manager), Magnus Johnson (Manager), Colin Macritchie, Craig Ferguson, Cailean Macarthur, Donald John Wilson, Gordon Mackenzie, Stewart Munro, Jack Maclennan, Innes Iain Morrison, Mark McGee, Alasdair Maciver, Domhnall Mackay, Graeme Mackenzie, James Luney, Peter Mackenzie, Gordon Campbell, Alasdair Gillies, Stuart Dunn, Andrew Murray, Martin Maclean, Robert Mackenzie, Robert Jones, Micheil Russel Smith, Robert Shirkie, Angus Campbell, Alasdair Downey, Alasdair Macleod, Martainn Shields, Kenneth Macdonald, Joseph Macinnes, Hector Maphee, Gordon Morrison, Colin Maclean.