Successful day for local drivers in Skye gravel sprint

Four drivers from Skye and Lochalsh finished in the top 10 at the local rally club’s annual gravel sprint last Saturday near Skeabost.

With a record entry of 31 competitors taking part in the final round of the Scottish Rally Time Trial Championship organised by the Scottish Association of Car Clubs, David Wilson from Alness finished first overall in his Ford Escort Mark 2.

Sandy Mackenzie from Balmacara finished second in his Opel Manta, the first Class 5 car home. As the first local driver to finish, he won the trophy sponsored by the Free Press. He also won the award for most entertaining driver sponsored by Cuillin FM. Niall Inglis from Dunvegan was third in the first Class 3 car home, a Vauxhall Nova RWD.

Neil Morrison from Dunvegan drove the first Class 6 vehicle — fourth overall — a Sierra Cosworth four by four. Paddy Munro from Glenshiel was fifth in his Ford Escort Mark 2, the second Class 2 after David Wilson.

In its inaugural year the RTT Championship has been dominated by drivers from Lochalsh and Skye. Overall Scottish Champion after an exciting competition was this season’s consistent leader from Glenshiel, Paddy Munro, closely ahead of Kyle of Lochalsh’s John O’ Kane.

The winner of the award for fastest front-wheel drive car was John Urquhart from Nairn and for fastest rear-wheel drive Niall Inglis, while the Joy Robson Memorial Trophy went to Neil Morrison. Six cars did not finish.

The Isle of Skye Rally Club have expressed their thanks to everyone for their continued support and help in running the rally, especially Archie and Fiona Macdonald for the use of their shed and for providing the marshalls with lunch on the day.