Isle of Skye gravel sprint draws large crowd

The Isle of Skye Rally Club hosted their third gravel sprint in front of a crowd of around 500 at Skeabost Forest last Saturday.

From the 25 entries, 20 cars competed for a number of awards. The fastest car against the clock was driven by David Wilson from Alness — one of the fastest young rally drivers in Scotland. The sprint was headed by zero car Reay MacKay from Fort Augustus in his ex-Prodrive Subaru World Rally Car which was once driven by England’s only World Rally Champion. First Skye man home, and in second place overall, was the spectacular Duncan Macdonald in his sky blue Ford Escort.

The full list of prizewinners is as follows: First overall (Donald Rankin Trophy) David Wilson, Alness; first local (West Highland Free Press Trophy) Duncan MacDonald, Eyre; fastest front-wheel drive (sponsored by Macleod Joinery) John MacLeod, Kensaleyre; fastest rear-wheel drive (sponsored by Macleod Joinery) David Wilson, Alness; Joy Robson Memorial Trophy for first local four-wheel drive, Murdo Graham, Lewis;  most entertaining driver (Cuillin FM Trophy) Ryan Dunbar, Inverness; Class 2 Kenny Munro,  Dunvegan; Class 3 Kenny Wood, Inverness; Class 4 Duncan MacDonald, Eyre; Class  6 Sandy Morrison, Dunvegan.